Font Size:
  • L
  • M
  • S

Taiwan Scores 1 Gold and 1 Silver 2 Bronze at 2016 IOI

The Taiwan team, trained by professors of NTNU, had a good showing at the International Olympiad in Informatics (IOI) hosted by the Russian city of Kazan from 12 to 19 August. A total of 83 countries and 308 participants are in this game. The Taiwan team got one gold, one silver and one bronze. Student from National Experimental High School at Hsinchu Science Park, Ho Ta Jui, was the best among the four, making him number 8 in the world with a total grade of 465.
Professor Greg Lee from the Department of Science and Information Engineering with a dozen of professors team up and took the responsibility of training these contestants. 146 students attended the selection. 4 finalist came up after second round, training camp and final test. Prof. Greg Lee was the leader and Prof. Chun-Fa Chang was vice leader. The team went to Kazan, Russia on August 11th and the closing ceremony was held on August 18th. 
Taiwan has participated in the IOI since 1994, and has performed very well each year. To date, Taiwan has won 18 gold, 43 silver, and 24 bronze medals. The contestants this year are Ho Ta Jui fromExperimental High School at Hsinchu Science Park, Yu Bo Syu from Kaohsiung Senior High School, Yang Hao Cheng from Kang Chao Bilingual School and Yan Jui Nan from Yangpin High School. Professor Lee said that the style of questions this year is different from that of last year, so they made some changes on answering strategy. The students did pretty well.
To recognize students’ outstanding performance, the MOE formulated and issued special regulations. Those who win a gold medal can be automatically admitted into related university departments, or recommended for admission to any department. In addition, Golder medalist will receive a 200,000 NT dollar scholarship; those who win a silver medal will receive a 100,000 NT dollar scholarship; and those who win a bronze medal will receive a 50,000 NT dollar scholarship. A student who wins two or more different awards during the same academic year can only apply for the most valuable scholarship he or she qualifies for.
The next IOI will be held Iran and Taiwan will continue to keep up with the excellence performance.