Font Size:
  • L
  • M
  • S

Alumni Tan Chee Lay, Choong Kam Ko received Distinguished Taiwan Alumni Award`

In order to recognize foreigners who have studied in Taiwan, the Study in Taiwan (SIT) Talent Database Project Office of the Ministry of Education has set up the first "Distinguished Taiwan Alumni Award". Recently, the list of awardees with outstanding achievement and contribution in the fields of academic research, industry & commerce, politics, humanities & communications and other which deserves to be recognized was revealed. Among 7 awardees, there are two alumni from NTNU. One is Choong Kam Kow in the field of Art and Tan Chee Lay in the academic field. 
NTNU is the most internationalized university in Taiwan. Every year, more than 6,000 overseas students come to study for a degree or for language courses. Over the years, overseas students have made great achievements. Former Japanese Prime Minister Ryutaro Hashimoto and former Australian Prime Minister Kevin Rudd have studied in NTNU. The selection competition is fierce, This selection will be held once every 2 years and 5 to 10 alumni of all universities in Taiwan will be awarded each time. This proves that the judges highly recognize the distinguished alumni of NTNU.
 Dr. Choong Kam Kow from Malaysia graduated from the Dept. of Fine Arts. He is now an Honorary Academic Adviser, Malaysian Institute of Art and Chairman of the Federation of Asian Artists. He has dedicated his life to art education and creation and received Ahli Mangku Negara from the Supreme Head of Malaysia and an honorary PhD or Arts from the Robert Gordon University. 
Another alumnus is the Deputy Head Tan Chee Lay of Asian Languages & Cultures at Nanyang Technological University. Dr. Tan graduated from the Department of Chinese. He received his PhD in Cambridge University and devoted himself in the education of Singapore. Chee Lay was awarded the coveted Young Artist Award by the National Arts Council in 2004 and the Singapore Youth Award (Culture and the Arts), the highest accolade for youth, in 2006. Both of them will attend the award ceremony on October 23 at the Ministry of Education and shared their experience.