Font Size:
  • L
  • M
  • S

Prof. Kao Wen Chung conferred honorable IEEE Fellowship

The Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) has announced its list of IEEE Fellow of 2019 on November 23rd. Prof. Kao Wen Chung from the Department of Electrical Engineering 
IEEE is the world’s largest technical professional organization dedicated to advancing technology for the benefit of humanity. Through its highly cited publications, conferences, technology standards, and professional and educational activities, IEEE is the trusted voice in a wide variety of areas ranging from aerospace systems, computers, and telecommunications to biomedical engineering, electric power, and consumer electronics. Now there are more than 400,000 of members from 160 countries. This year, 295 members have been conferred the title of IEEE Fellow and only 5 of them are from Taiwan.  Prof. Kao is the second professor that becomes an IEEE Fellow since NTNU has established. The first one is Prof. Wang Wei Yen from the same department. 
Prof. Kao is the first scholar that conducts research on electronic paper in Taiwan. He started to work on ePaper since 2001 and assisted in establishing the first company about ePaper in Taiwan. 
He is a Senior Member of IEEE. He received the Best Paper Awards at the IEEE 2006 International Symposium on Consumer Electronics, IEEE 2006 Asia-Pacific Conference on Circuits and Systems, IEEE 2011 International Symposium on Consumer Electronics, and IEEE 2014 International Conference on Consumer Electronics. He currently serves as an Associate Editor of IEEE Transactions on Consumer Electronics and IEEE Consumer Electronics Magazine. He is the Founding General Chair of IEEE International Conference on Consumer Electronics – Taiwan and the General Chair of The 17-th IEEE International Symposium on Consumer Electronics. He is a member of the Technical Program Committee of IEEE International Conference on Consumer Electronics, Las Vegas, since 2008.
Prof. Kao says that he has learned a lot from many people at NTNU for the past 15 years. He will continue to work hard in his special field in academic and also devote himself to the Department of Physics.